BISMARCK, N.D. - President Donald Trump granted North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum's request for a disaster declaration Tuesday, Jan. 21, following an October snowstorm that caused major flooding throughout the state.

The declaration frees up public funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help North Dakota municipalities and counties repair infrastructure and roads damaged by the fall storm and ensuing floods.

The state estimated $9.7 million in infrastructural damage when Burgum initially requested the presidential declaration in December. Tuesday's declaration covers 16 counties, including Barnes, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, Mountrail, Nelson, Sargent, Sheridan, Stutsman, Traill, Walsh and Wells.

"We’re deeply grateful to President Trump and FEMA for granting our request and making assistance available as our local jurisdictions continue to recover from an unprecedented wet fall and prepare for potential spring flooding,” Burgum said.

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue approved in November disaster designations for 47 flood-affected counties, unlocking federal aid for farmers and ranchers. Trump previously granted a request for a disaster declaration in June after spring flooding affected much of the state.